3 former governors to be honored with statues in Pierre - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

3 former governors to be honored with statues in Pierre

Posted: Updated:

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - Former South Dakota governors Bill Janklow, Frank Farrar and Harvey Wollman will be commemorated with statues as part of the state's Trail of Governors project.

Trail of Governors Foundation board chairman Rick Jensen says the governors comprise a good group spanning the last 40 years of the state's history.

The project aims to have bronze statues of the state's former governors located throughout Pierre. The first chosen for the honor were Arthur Mellette, Harlan Bushfield and Walter Dale Miller.

Janklow was South Dakota's only four-term governor; Wollman was its last Democrat. Farrar served from 1969-1971. Janklow died earlier this year, but Farrar and Wollman are still alive. Each statue costs nearly $70,000, paid for by private sources.

Jensen says the statues likely will be unveiled next year.




(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.