Iowa's House Democrats elect leaders - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

Iowa's House Democrats elect leaders

Posted: Updated:

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Iowa House Democrats have re-elected Representative Kevin McCarthy, of Des Moines, as the House Democratic leader.

McCarthy was re-elected to the leadership slot Saturday in a meeting at the State Capitol in Des Moines. 

McCarthy says House Democrats are "ready to get to work, grow our economy, and rebuild the middle class from the bottom up." 

Democrats also elected four assistant leaders. They are Representative Ako Abdul-Samad, of Des Moines; Representative Mary Gaskill, of Ottumwa; Representative Mary Mascher, of Iowa City; and Representative Mark Smith, of Marshalltown.

House Democrats will gather again in December to plan for the 2013 legislative session, which begins on January 14.



(Copyright 2012 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.