MVFC Announces 2012 All-Conference Squad - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

MVFC Announces 2012 All-Conference Squad

Posted: Updated:

QB Matt Brown of Illinois State; DB Marcus Williams of North Dakota State; QB Sawyer Kollmorgen of UNI; and coach Craig Bohl headline the 2012 Missouri Valley Football Conference all-conference team.

Brown has been named Offensive Player of the Year -- edging RB Zach Zenner of South Dakota State and RB Shakir Bell of Indiana State in a tight vote for the league's top offensive honor. Williams is the league's Defensive Player of the Year, as he finished ahead of Illinois State's Colton Underwood. Kollmorgen has been selected as the league's Freshman and Newcomer of the Year. And Bohl, who led the top-ranked Bison to a 10-1 record, MVFC outright crown, and No. 1 overall seed in the NCAA Division I Football Championship playoffs, is the league's Coach of the Year.

Brown joins former Redbird stars RB Toby Davis (1992) and WR Laurént Robinson (2005) as ISU players to win Offensive Player of the Year honors. Williams is the first ever Bison player to win the league's top defensive honor. Kollmorgen is the third Panther to win Freshman of the Year honors -- joining former Panther QBs Tom Petrie (2001) and Eric Sanders (2004), and he's the first player in league history to sweep Newcomer and Freshman of the Year honors.

Bohl, meanwhile, is the league's coach of the year for the second-straight year. He's the eighth coach in league history to win the award in back-to-back seasons.

Voting was conducted by a league panel of head coaches, sports information directors and media.

2012 All-Missouri Valley Football Conference Team


DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: DB Marcus Williams, North Dakota State




QB -- Matt Brown, Illinois State 6-4 220 Sr. Marion (Ill.) High

RB -- Shakir Bell, Indiana State 5-8 185 Jr. Indianapolis (Ind.) Warren Central High

Zach Zenner, South Dakota State 6-0 215 So. Eagan (Minn.) High

FB -- Jordan Neukirch, Illinois State 6-2 235 Jr. Algonquin (Ill.) Huntley High

WR -- Dorian Buford, Missouri State 6-0 178 Jr. St. Louis (Mo.) McCluer North High

Tyrone Walker, Illinois State 5-11 200 Sr. Indianapolis (Ind.) Cardinal Ritter High

TE -- MyCole Pruitt, Southern Illinois 6-3 247 So. St. Louis (Mo.) Kirkwood High

OL -- Pete Cary, Illinois State 6-4 305 Sr. Cincinnati (Ohio) Turpin High

Chris Elkins, Youngstown State 6-4 290 Jr. Beaver Falls (Pa.) High

Joe Lund, North Dakota State 6-2 303 Sr. Bloomington (Minn.) Kennedy High

Billy Turner, North Dakota State 6-6 300 Jr. Shoreview (Minn.) Mounds View High

Bryan Witzmann, South Dakota State 6-7 300 Jr. Houlton (Wis.) Somerset High

PK -- Adam Keller, North Dakota State 6-1 208 So. Lewisberry (Pa.) Red Land High

DL -- Ken Boatright, Southern Illinois 6-4 253 Sr. Bolingbrook (Ill.) High

Shelby Harris, Illinois State 6-2 255 Jr. Milwaukee (Wis.) Homestead High / Wisconsin

Ben Obaseki, Indiana State 6-3 270 Sr. Washington (Ind.) High

Colton Underwood, Illinois State 6-4 255 Jr. Washington (Ill.) High

LB -- Aaron Archie, Indiana State 6-0 235 Sr. Detroit (Mich.) Cass Tech

Grant Olson, North Dakota State 6-0 223 Jr. Plymouth (Minn.) Wayzata High

Ross Shafrath, South Dakota State 6-1 225 Sr. Hampton (Iowa) Hampton-Dumont High

Mike Zimmer, Illinois State 6-3 230 Sr. Wheeling (Ill.) High

DB -- Ben Ericksen, Illinois State 6-1 195 Sr. Greendale (Wis.) High

Caleb Schaffitzel, Missouri State 6-0 214 So. Fair Grove (Mo.) High

Johnny Towalid, Indiana State 5-11 170 Sr. Indianapolis (Ind.) Southport High

Marcus Williams, North Dakota State 5-11 194 Jr. Minneapolis (Minn.) Hopkins High

P -- Lucas Hileman, Indiana State 6-1 195 Sr. Anna (Ill.) Anna-Jonesboro High / Baylor

RS -- Carlos Anderson, UNI 5-8 172 Sr. Blue Springs (Mo.) High


QB -- Brock Jensen, North Dakota State 6-3 224 Jr. Waupaca (Wis.) High

RB -- Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State 5-9 215 Sr. Cleveland (Ohio) Midpark High

David Johnson, UNI 6-3 214 So. Clinton (Iowa) High

FB -- Austen Wozniak, Indiana State 6-2 240 Jr. Houston (Texas) Cy-Fair / Hargrave Military

WR -- Will Powell, South Dakota 6-1 205 Sr. Sioux Falls (S.D.) O'Gorman High

Ryan Smith, North Dakota State 5-7 175 Jr. Wahpeton (N.D.) High

TE -- Will Shaw, Youngstown State 6-3 245 Sr. Baltimore (Md.) Highland High

OL -- Evan Borchers, Indiana State 6-2 295 Sr. Cincinnati (Ohio) Colerain High

Will Castle, South Dakota State 6-2 310 Sr. Brandon (S.D.) Brandon Valley High

Dan Kruger, UNI 6-5 308 Jr. Wesley (Iowa) West Hancock

Casey Paswater, Indiana State 6-4 290 Sr. Columbus (Ind.) North High

Randy Richards, Missouri State 6-4 310 Sr. Royal Palm Beach (Fla.) High

PK -- Tanner Fritschle, Indiana State 6-1 195 So. Washington (Ind.) High

DL -- Cole Jirik, North Dakota State 6-4 250 Jr. Northfield (Minn.) High

Nate Palmer, Illinois State 6-3 240 Sr. Chicago (Ill.) Simeon High / Illinois

Doug Peete, South Dakota State 6-3 255 Jr. Olathe (Kan.) Olathe North High

Leevon Perry, North Dakota State 6-3 276 Jr. Cottage Grove (Minn.) St. Paul Saint Agnes High

LB -- Jayson DiManche, Southern Illinois 6-2 229 Sr. Hamilton (N.J.) Hamilton West

T.J. Lally, South Dakota State 6-0 225 Fr. Chicago (Ill.) Marmion Academy

Tyler Starr, South Dakota 6-5 230 Jr. Little Rock (Iowa) George-Little Rock High

Jacolby Washington, Indiana State 6-1 235 Sr. Deltona (Fla.) Deltona Trinity Christian

DB -- Calvin Burnett, Indiana State 5-9 160 Jr. Orlando (Fla.) Freedom High / Hofstra

Martinez Davis, Western Illinois 5-10 180 So. Madisonville (Ky.) North Hopkins High / Air Force Prep

Skyler Luxa, South Dakota State 5-11 210 Sr. Blair (Neb.) High

Varmah Sonie, UNI 5-9 166 Sr. Burnsville (Minn.) Apple Valley

P -- Kyle Bernard, UNI 6-3 198 Sr. Cedar Falls (Iowa) High

RS -- Ryan Smith, North Dakota State 5-7 175 Jr. Wahpeton (N.D.) High

Courtesy: MVFC


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.