South Dakota rural hospitals getting federal funding - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

South Dakota rural hospitals getting federal funding

Posted: Updated:

Twenty-three rural hospitals in South Dakota will receive a total of $278,037 in federal funding for projects to improve patient access, reduce medication errors, reduce hospital readmissions, and improve operations.

The federal Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program funding comes through the South Dakota Department of Health. Over the last 12 years, rural hospitals in South Dakota have received more than $4,078,000 in direct awards through the program.

Hospitals must be Medicare-certified as critical access to be eligible for the funds. Critical access hospitals receive a higher Medicare reimbursement rate and are eligible for federal funding for improvement projects. There are currently 38 critical access hospitals in South Dakota.

The funding helps rural hospitals make direct, positive impacts on patient care and health outcomes, noted an official from the Platte Health Center – Avera, one of the facilities receiving funds. "Without the additional supplemental financial assistance we receive from this program, we would not have been able to implement the programs and processes we currently have in place," said Jody Sternberg, RN, and Director of Patient Care Services at Platte. "This program makes a difference for critical access hospitals."

Sustaining essential healthcare services in rural and undeserved areas is a key objective of the Department of Health's 2020 Initiative.

Hospitals receiving Medicare Rural Hospital Flexibility Program direct awards are listed below.


Burke – Community Memorial Hospital


Canton – Sanford Canton-Inwood Medical Center


Chamberlain – Sanford Chamberlain Medical Center


Clear Lake, Sanford Clear Lake Medical Center


Dell Rapids, Avera Dells Area Hospital


DeSmet, Avera DeSmet Memorial Hospital


Flandreau, Avera Flandreau Hospital


Vermillion, Sanford Vermillion Medical Center


Viborg, Pioneer Memorial Hospital


Webster, Sanford Webster Medical Center


Wessington Springs, Avera Weskota Memorial Hospital


Winner – Winner Regional Healthcare Center


Britton, Marshall County Hospital


Philip, Philip Health Services


Wagner, Wagner Community Memorial Hospital - Avera


Faulkton, Faulkton Area Medical Center


Martin, Bennett County Hospital


Platte, Platte Health Center - Avera


Redfield – Community Memorial Hospital


Bowdle, Bowdle Hospital


Hot Springs, Fall River Health Services


Mobridge, Mobridge Regional Hospital


Parkston, Avera St. Benedict Health Center


Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.