USD Men Win Summit Indoor Track Championship - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

USD Men Win Summit Indoor Track Championship

Posted: Updated:

VERMILLION, S.D.—Seven individual championships and a winning relay team helped South Dakota capture the men's Summit League Indoor Track and Field Championship held at the DakotaDome Sunday and Monday. It is the first Summit League title in any sport for the Coyotes.

   Four place winners in the 5,000-meter run, the second-to-last event, gave South Dakota the points it needed to edge North Dakota State. The Coyotes won the 1,600-meter relay for good measure to finish with 190 points. NDSU finished with 176.5 points. Kansas City was third with 118 points.

   South Dakota junior Jeff Mettler was named Track Championship MVP. Mettler won titles in the 3,000-meter run (8:18.69) and the mile (4:11.18) and took third in the 5,000-meter run (14:40.28).

   USD freshman Chris Nielsen won the 400-meter dash (50.28s) and anchored the winning relay team to garner Newcomer of the Year honors on the men's side. The Coyotes swept the award with fellow frosh Amber Eichkorn earning Newcomer of the Year on the women's side. Eichkorn placed third in the 3,000-meter run (9:55.43) and fourth in the 5,000-meter run (17:30.65).

   South Dakota's women placed third with 114 team points, four shy of second-place Omaha. North Dakota State captured its sixth consecutive championship with 186 points.

   Coyote juniors Bethany Buell and Megan Glisar won Summit League championships in the pole vault and high jump, respectively. Both set Summit League records and program records, and both improved their spots on the national list. Buell cleared 14-feet-5.5-inches, the fourth-best vault in the nation. Glisar reached 5-feet-11.25-inches in the high jump, the 18th-best jump to date.

South Dakota Notes:

  • Head Coach Dave Gottsleben was named Summit League Coach of the Year (men)
  • Of the 17 events on the men's side, South Dakota won eight and was runner-up in five
  • Sophomore Kyle McKelvey defended his shot put championship with a throw of 58-feet-8.75-inches
  • The 1,600-meter relay team consisted of Erik Hill, Jeff O'Connell, Lukas Bernard and Chris Nielsen
  • O'Connell won the long jump with a leap of 24-feet-3.75-inches
  • Senior Michael Burrus won the 60-meter dash with a time of 6.83s
  • Junior Kyle Ballew won the pole vault with a vault of 17-feet-1-inch
  • Sophomore Erik Hill was runner-up in both the 60-meter hurdles (8.16s) and the 200 (22.06s)

Men's Standings:

  1. South Dakota                  190
  2. North Dakota State          176.5
  3. Kansas City                     118
  4. South Dakota State         85.3
  5. Western Illinois                64.6
  6. Oakland 22.5

Women's Standings:

  1. North Dakota State          186
  2. Omaha                            118
  3. South Dakota                  114
  4. Kansas City                     86
  5. South Dakota State         73
  6. Oakland                           43
  7. Western Illinois                34
  8. Fort Wayne                      9
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.