KSFY's Erik Thorstenson receives SDHSAA's Distinguished Service - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

KSFY's Erik Thorstenson receives SDHSAA's Distinguished Service Award

Posted: Updated:

KSFY Sports Director Erik Thorstenson is one of 20 distinguished individuals to receive the South Dakota High School Activities Association Distinguished Service Award for the 2013-14 school year.

Following a nomination process, the recipients of the Distinguished Service Award are selected by the SDHSAA Board of Directors.

The SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award program was established by the SDHSAA in 1976. The Distinguished Service Award is the highest recognition bestowed by the SDHSAA.

Distinguished Service Award recipients are individuals whose contributions have had an impact on high school activity programs. The Distinguished Service Award is presented to honor administrators (principals, superintendents and athletic/activity directors); Board of Education members; athletic and fine arts activities coaches & directors; contest officials for fine arts and athletic activities; and contributors to statewide high school activities.

The following individuals are the 2013-14 SDHSAA Distinguished Service Award recipients:

Board of Education:

  • Chris Specht –Yankton

Category: Administrators

  • Terry Nebelsick – Huron
  • Jim Dorman – Sioux Falls Lincoln
  • Mike Paris – Sturgis Brown
  • Chuck Wilson – Todd County

Category: Coaches & Directors

  • Larry Johnson – Pierre
  • Al Palsma – James Valley Christian
  • Tom Authier – Lyman
  • Dan Snethen – Little Wound
  • Chuck Welke – Warner
  • Jim Drake – Winner
  • Mike Dacy – Gregory – Posthumously

Category: Contest Officials

  • JD Ackman – Brookings
  • Rolf Olson – Vermillion
  • Rick Rognestad – Vermillion
  • Myron Bryant – Pierre
  • Gary Frankenstein – Huron

Category: Contributors (Individual/Organization)

  • Julie Andersen, Sioux Falls - SDPB Executive Director
  • Erik Thorstenson – Sioux Falls – KSFY Sports Director
  • Rod Fisher – Pierre – Dakota Radio Group

The Distinguished Service Awards will be presented throughout the 2013-14 school year at various SDHSAA state athletic and fine arts events.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.