South Dakota Hall of Fame 2013 inductees announced - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

South Dakota Hall of Fame 2013 inductees announced

Posted: Updated:

Each year, the South Dakota Hall of Fame recognizes champions of excellence, and this year it says it's found 10 people who do that.

On Thursday, the Hall announced the 10 South Dakotans who embrace public stewardship. The inductees include a former special agent, a teacher, and a former governor. The wife of the late Governor Bill Janklow, Mary, says her husband was focused on helping those who could not help themselves and improving the state of South Dakota—but he liked to have fun too.

"A lot of people know that he always said he was the best fat man waterskier in the state, and he could spray that water up in the air; he loved it," Mary Janklow said at Thursday's announcement of the inductees.

677 South Dakotans have been inducted into the state's Hall of Fame. 200 are still alive and contributing to the state.

Here's a list of the 2013 Inductees: 

Miles Beacom

Ruth Brennan

Bernard Christenson

Shirley Halleen

William "Bill" Janklow

Dennis Knutson

Pat Lebrun

Thomas Louis Lillibridge

Jerry Shoener

Charles "Chuck" Trimble

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.