South Dakota Primary: Getting you ready to head to the polls - KSFY News - Sioux Falls, SD News, Weather, Sports

South Dakota Primary: Getting you ready to head to the polls

Posted: Updated:
South Dakota voters can head to the polls Tuesday to cast their ballot in the Primary election. Polls are open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m.

Five Republican candidates for U.S. Senate have made their final pushes for your vote to race against Democrat Rick Weiland in the November general election. They are: Stace Nelson, Mike Rounds, Dr. Annette Bosworth, Jason Ravnsborg and Larry Rhoden. The vacant seat was last held by Senator Tim Johnson.

In addition, four South Dakota gubernatorial candidates are competing as well, including current governor Dennis Daugaard. Registered Republicans can vote for either Daugaard or Lora Hubbel for the republican nomination. Democrats can vote for Susan Wismer or Joe Lowe.

For voters in Minnehaha and Lincoln Counties, three candidates are vying for one seat in the Minnehaha County Judge of the Second Judicial Circuit: Marc Feinstein, John Hinrichs and John Pekas. 

Independents or those with no party affiliation can vote for one of the democratic gubernatorial candidates on their ballot as well as one candidate for county circuit judge. 

A winner with at least 35% of the vote earns the nomination. A runoff between the top two candidates will be held August 12th if no one reaches 35%. South Dakota Secretary of State Jason Gant predicts a slightly above-average turnout at the polls, Tuesday with 40% of Republicans and 20% of the Democrats to vote. 

The following information is from the South Dakota Secretary of State Jason Gant: 

To get a look at your ballot:

To double check your polling place: 

For a look at Election Day FAQ's from the SD Secretary of State: 
Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KSFY. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service or our EEO Report.