51 South Dakota Special Olympians head to Seattle

The 2018 Special Olympics USA Games will be held in Seattle, Washington July 1-6, 2018. More than 4,000 athletes and coaches representing 50 state Programs and the District of Columbia, along with the support of tens of thousands of volunteers and spectators, will compete in 14 Olympic-type team and individual sports.

Team South Dakota is sending 51 athletes. Donations are still needed for everyone to make the trip. The average cost per athlete is $1,000. When donating, Special Olympics requests you include the athlete’s name you are supporting if applicable.

Donate Here

Here is a list of the Athletes:

Adrianna Bamsey - Sioux Falls
Sam Howell - Madison
Chana Sandoval - Sioux Falls
Tanner Stirling - Parkston
Coaches: Missy Hill, Brandon Sandoval

John McHale - Sioux Falls
Megan Mills - Rapid City
Addison Whitney - Rapid City
Kent Mulholland - Spearfish
Coaches: Cathy Grubb, Rich Mulholland

Traditional Basketball Team
Garet Alickson - Spearfish
Taylor Allen - Sioux Falls
Sarah Faue - Sioux Falls
Aaron Krouse - Mitchell
Skylar Pagel - Aberdeen
Casey Tetzlaff - Watertown
Jasmine Tonneson - Aberdeen
Wade Uhrich - Aberdeen
Jon Underberg - Sioux Falls
Bruce Weeldreyer - Sioux Falls
Coaches: Chad Hellenga, Laurie Schmig

Traditional Softball Team
Jacob Anderson - Yankton
Eva Blake - Spearfish
Derrick Boegel - Rapid City
Kyle Duke - Yankton
Mike Estman - Rapid City
Josh Gilbert - Rapid City
Chad Hanten - Brandon
Anthony Kelly - Mitchell
Luke Nagel - Mitchell
Jody Neitzel - Watertown
Noah Pierce - Sioux Falls
Tim Schellhouse - Sioux Falls
Chris Smith - Sioux Falls
Blake Stephens - Watertown
David Tanner - Rapid City
Coaches: James Duke, Mary Hieb, Amy Jobgen

Unified Basketball Team (High School Team)
Caleb Adermann - Huron
Kellan Benck - Clear Lake UP
Alayna Benike - Castlewood UP
Nicole Conrad - Castlewood
Darah DeKam - Castlewood UP
Dylan Motzer - Clear Lake
Cole Pedersen - Arlington
Gavan Schultis - Goodwin
Xander Sheehan - Hayti UP
Kyler Tvedt - Castlewood UP
Coaches: Amanda Katzenberger, Chris Lather

Unified Bocce
Gary Alickson - Spearfish UP
Mallory Bingham - Aberdeen
Joe Burmeister - Rapid City UP
TeaLayna Hill - Belle Fourche UP
Matt Morin - Black Hawk
Kaylee Namken - Hayti UP
Dominick Rosenlund - Bryant
Denelle Wilson - Sioux Falls
Coaches: Peggy Heermann, Brian Jacobsen