Bruno Mars crashes rap's big party at the Grammys

NEW YORK (AP) - Bruno Mars is the big winner from Sunday's Grammy Awards, sweeping through the ceremony with wins in every category he was nominated in.

Mars took home six Grammys Sunday night, including the biggest honors - record and album of the year. Mars' late-show wins came after Kendrick Lamar dominated earlier portions of the evening, winning the first televised award after a blistering performance of songs from his album "DAMN."

Lamar won six awards Sunday, causing leading nominee Jay-Z to go home empty-handed.

The big wins for Mars were immediately second-guessed online, with some likening his wins to last year's wins by Adele over music by Beyonce.

Here are the winners for the evening's top awards from ABC News:

Best Rap/Sung Performance

6lack – "Prblms"
GoldLink featuring Brent Faiyaz and Shy Glizzy – "Crew"
Jay-Z featuring Beyoncé – "Family Feud"
WINNER: Kendrick Lamar featuring Rihanna – "Loyalty"
SZA featuring Travis Scott – "Love Galore"

Best new artist

WINNER: Alessia Cara
Lil Uzi Vert
Julia Michaels

Best pop solo performance

“Love So Soft” — Kelly Clarkson
“Praying” — Kesha
“Million Reasons” — Lady Gaga
“What About Us” — P!nk
WINNER: “Shape Of You” — Ed Sheeran

Best rap album

"4:44" — Jay-Z
WINNER: "DAMN." — Kendrick Lamar
"Culture" — Migos
"Laila's Wisdom" — Rapsody
"Flower Boy" — Tyler, The Creator

Best country album

"Cosmic Hallelujah" — Kenny Chesney
"Heart Break" — Lady Antebellum
"The Breaker" — Little Big Town
Life Changes" — Thomas Rhett
WINNER: "From A Room: Volume 1" — Chris Stapleton

Song of the year

“Despacito” — Ramón Ayala, Justin Bieber, Jason "Poo Bear" Boyd, Erika Ender, Luis Fonsi & Marty James Garton, songwriters (Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber)
“4:44” — Shawn Carter & Dion Wilson, songwriters (Jay-Z)
“Issues” — Benny Blanco, Mikkel Storleer Eriksen, Tor Erik Hermansen, Julia Michaels & Justin Drew Tranter, songwriters (Julia Michaels)
“1-800-273-8255” — Alessia Caracciolo, Sir Robert Bryson Hall II, Arjun Ivatury, Khalid Robinson, songwriters (Logic Featuring Alessia Cara & Khalid)
WINNER: “That's What I Like” — Christopher Brody Brown, James Fauntleroy, Philip Lawrence, Bruno Mars, Ray Charles McCullough II, Jeremy Reeves, Ray Romulus & Jonathan Yip, songwriters (Bruno Mars)

Record of the year

“Redbone” — Childish Gambino
“Despacito” — Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee Featuring Justin Bieber
"The Story Of O.J." — Jay-Z
“HUMBLE.” — Kendrick Lamar
WINNER: “24K Magic” — Bruno Mars

Album of the year

"Awaken, My Love!" — Childish Gambino
"4:44" — Jay-Z
"DAMN." — Kendrick Lamar
"Melodrama" — Lorde
WINNER: "24K Magic" — Bruno Mars

(The Associated Press contributed to this report.)