City Council recognizes citizens with new 'Siouxperhero' award

Tuesday night, the Sioux Falls City Council honored a super group of people in a first-of-its-kind ceremony.

They are the city's first five recipients of the 'Siouxperhero Citizen Recognition Award'.

The heroes donning their capes include Laurie Fluit, Angela Declerk, Clair Halverson, Jayme Nelson and Tessica Severson. The City Council created the Siouxperhero Award in January to emphasize positive stories, people and developments in Sioux Falls as well as encourage others to become more active in the community.

"These are generally people, they don't necessarily do what they do for attention or glory - they just go above and beyond because they volunteer and care and that's what we're seeing so far - so hopefully it should be kinda fun to see who we have come through and win this award," Marshall Selberg said.

If there's a Siouxperhero in your life, nominate them by visiting Carnegie Town Hall or submit an application at

Once approved by the City Council, the next 'Siouxperheroes' will be recognized on the first Tuesday of each month.