KSFY honored with 2017 Regional Murrow award

SIOUX FALLS, SD (KSFY) - RTDNA announced Tuesday that KSFY News has received a 2017 Regional Edward R. Murrow award.

The award recognizes KSFY for breaking news coverage.

The Murrow awards recognize “outstanding achievements” in journalism and are given by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA).

RTDNA is the world’s largest professional organization devoted exclusively to electronic journalism. RTDNA members include local and network news executives, news directors, producers, reporters, photographers, editors, multimedia journalists and digital news professionals in broadcasting, cable and digital media, as well as journalism educators and students.

According to RTDNA, the Murrow awards are the embodiment of the values and principles set forth by Edward R. Murrow, a journalism pioneer who set the standards for the highest quality of broadcast journalism. Of the awards given to journalists, the Murrow Awards are among the most respected in the world.

KSFY now advances to the national Murrow award competition. Those winners will be announced this summer.