Officials close 23 county offices across South Dakota due to weather

(KSFY) - Gov. Dennis Daugaard has expanded the list of South Dakota counties where state offices are closed Tuesday because of the blizzard and winter storm impacting the state.

The order includes not only the 13 counties where the offices were closed Monday, but 10 additional counties as well.

According to Department of Public Safety Spokesman Tony Mangan, state offices are closed Tuesday in the counties of: Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Campbell, Charles Mix, Davison, Douglas, Faulk, Grant, Gregory, Hand, Hughes, Hutchinson, Hyde, Jones, Lyman, Potter, Roberts, Stanley, Sully, Tripp, Walworth and Yankton.

Mangan said only essential personnel within state offices in those counties should report to their work stations.

The state Capitol in Pierre remains open and the state Legislature is meeting as scheduled. Call the Legislative Research Council at 605-773-3251 for more information.

Officials are monitoring the storm closely and evaluating whether further state-office closures might be necessary.

Citizens with business at state offices in other South Dakota counties impacted by the storm should call ahead to make sure the office remains open.