South Dakotans receive $6.7 million in disaster recovery funds

PIERRE, S.D. – Federal agencies have provided $6,765,847 million in grants, loans, and flood insurance payments to assist South Dakotans as they recover from winter storms and flooding from mid-March to late April 2019.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency has provided $1,464,380 in grants to homeowners and renters as of July 23, including $1,178,357 for home repair or replacement and rental expenses and $286,023 for repair or replacement of personal property, vehicle repair or replacement, moving expenses and other disaster-related needs.

The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved $2,414,800 million in low-interest disaster loans for businesses and residents.

The National Flood Insurance Program received 187 claims and paid $2,886,667 to policyholders as of July 17.

FEMA housing inspectors have completed 1,549 inspections of homes damaged by the severe winter storms or flooding.

The deadline for applying for federal disaster assistance is Aug. 6. Those with disaster-related damages can contact FEMA by calling 800-621-3362 (TTY 800-462-7585), registering online at, using the FEMA app, or by visiting a Disaster Recovery Center.

The following counties and reservations are designated for FEMA Individual Assistance: Bennett, Bon Homme, Charles Mix, Dewey, Hutchinson, Jackson, Mellette, Minnehaha, Oglala Lakota, Todd, Turner, Yankton, Ziebach counties; Pine Ridge Reservation; Rosebud Reservation; Cheyenne River Sioux Reservation.