State offices in Yankton, Clay, & Union counties closed due to weather

(KSFY) - State offices in three southeast South Dakota counties are closed Monday due to a winter weather system moving through the area, officials say.

Governor Dennis Daugaard announced state offices are closed in Clay, Union, and Yankton Counties.

Human Services Center employees and essential personnel from other state government agencies in those counties should report to their work stations.

Officials are monitoring the storm closely and evaluating whether further state-office closures might be necessary during the day.

Officials also suggest that citizens with business at state offices in other South Dakota counties impacted by the storm call ahead to make sure the office remains open