State offices in several counties closed due to blizzard


(KSFY) - A severe winter weather system moving through the region has led to the closure of several state offices across South Dakota.

Gov. Dennis Daugaard has ordered state offices in 13 South Dakota counties closed, according to Department of Public Safety Spokesman Tony Mangan.

State offices are closed in the counties of: Brule, Campbell, Faulk, Hand, Hughes, Hyde, Jones, Lyman, Potter, Stanley, Sully, Tripp and Walworth.

Mangan said only essential personnel within state offices in those counties should report to their work stations.

The state Capitol in Pierre remains open and the state Legislature is holding its regular committee meetings and floor sessions. People who plan to testify should call the Legislative Research Council at 605-773-3251.

Officials are monitoring the storm closely and evaluating whether further state-office closures might be necessary.

The blizzard has led to the closure of dozens of schools and other organizations across the state. You can see the full list here.