CFB: SMSU Announces 38 Signings

MARSHALL, Minn. - Southwest Minnesota State University head football coach Cory Sauter announced the addition of 38 student-athletes to the Mustang program to continue their academic and football careers at SMSU on Wednesday. Today’s announcement came on the first day student-athletes are allowed to sign National Letters of Intent. Sauter said he expects more to sign in the next few days to bring SMSU’s total to more than 40.

Today's list of signees includes high school and transfer student-athletes from 15 different states including Minnesota (11), California (4), Iowa (3), Nebraska (3), Washington (3), South Dakota (2), Arizona (2), Wisconsin (2), Michigan (2), Illinois (1), Indiana (1), Kansas (1), Florida (1), Nevada (1) and Oregon (1). Several of the signees have already enrolled at SMSU for spring semester.

“Today is a special day for Mustang Football! I’m thrilled to announce 38 student-athletes have decided to continue their education and playing careers at Southwest Minnesota State University,” Sauter said. “We have assembled a great group of young men who are hungry to compete and make our program better on and off the field. We are very excited about what these young men bring to our team and are looking forward to developing them for years to come. I would also like to take this time to thank our staff for their tremendous recruiting efforts over the last several months.”

Southwest Minnesota State is an NCAA Division II school located in Marshall and competes in the 16-team Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference. SMSU concluded the 2018 season with a record of 4-7.

SMSU is scheduled to begin spring practice on April 1 and will open the 2019 season tentatively on either Thursday, Sept. 5, or Saturday, Sept. 7, hosting Minnesota State University.

2019 SMSU National Letter of Intent Signees

Name Pos. Ht. Wt. Yr. Hometown High School Previous School
Bryce Andrews DL 6-3 245 Fr. Bellingham, Wash. Sehome
Gary Barnes DL 6-3 240 Fr. Madison, Wis. Madison La Follette
Jack Beardmore RB 5-10 175 Fr. Caledonia, Minn. Caledonia
Chase Becker LB 6-1 210 Fr. Antioch, Ill. Antioch Community
Adien Belt QB/ATH 6-5 200 Fr. Sioux City, Iowa Sioux City West
Reid Bot OL 6-3 260 Fr. Minneota, Minn. Lakeview
Ako Butler Jr. RB/DB 5-10 170 Fr. Jordan, Minn. Jordan
Nate Collins DL 6-0 260 Fr. Des Moines, Iowa Dowling Catholic
Bruin French OL 6-4 325 Fr. Midland, Mich. Clare
Diego Fuimaono TE 6-3 260 Fr. Independence, Ore. South Salem
Cole Galeazzi DL 6-3 240 Fr. Kingsford, Mich. Kingsford
Brad Gould OL 6-6 265 Fr. Las Vegas, Nev. Bishop Gorman
Paul Herrara QB 6-1 205 Jr. Los Angeles, Calif. Huntington Park East Los Angles College
Walter Holbrook OL/DL 5-11 300 Fr. Minneapolis, Minn. Robbinsdale Cooper
Levi Hooper OL 6-6 320 Fr. Trenton, Fla. Trenton
Jabari Hughes WR 5-10 170 Fr. Inglewood, Calif. Warren
Wyatt Kramer OL/DL 6-0 280 Fr. Southridge, Ind. Southridge
Trey Johnson WR 5-9 170 Jr. Apple Valley, Minn. Eastview Rochester Community & Tech. College
Zyairr Johnson-Landoll OL/DL 6-0 240 Fr. Sturgis, S.D. Sturgis Brown
Jace Mack OL 6-4 240 Fr. Mayer, Minn. Waconia
Aidan Mallory DB 5-11 185 Fr. Vancouver, Wash. Hockinson
Arath Martinez QB 5-10 225 Fr. Rochester, Minn. Rochester Century
Alex Maxwell OL 6-2 280 Fr. Lynnwood, Wash. Meadowdale
Thomas Mergen LB 5-11 215 Fr. Zumbro Falls, Minn. Rochester Century
Steven Nava QB 6-1 200 Jr. Rosemead, Calif. Rosemead Mt. San Antonio College
Andrew Pelishek RB/LB 5-10 185 Fr. De Pere, Wis. Wrightstown
Robert Pentecost OL 6-1 260 Fr. La Vista, Neb. Papillion La Vista
Anthony Provinzino WR/ATH 6-0 220 Fr. Duluth, Minn. Duluth East
Zeke Robinson WR 5-9 160 So. Vermillion, S.D. Elk Point-Jefferson University of South Dakota
Efrain Segoviano OL 6-2 310 Jr. Tucson, Ariz. Tucson Scottsdale Community College
Arvionte Sheffield RB 5-11 180 Fr Hawthorne, Calif. Warren
Jake Smith DL 6-5 265 Fr. Mesa, Ariz. Desert Ridge
Kobi Smith-Parrott OL 6-3 345 Sr. Lincoln, Neb. Lincoln Seton Hill University
Nathan Stearns WR/P 6-5 180 Fr. Olathe, Kan. Olathe South
Seth Totten OL 6-2 290 Fr. Lyons, Neb. Lyons-Decatur Northeast
Derec Weyer OL 6-6 290 Fr. Harlan, Iowa Harlan Community
Cedric Williams OL 6-1 300 Fr. Minneapolis, Minn. Robbinsdale Cooper
Brandon Yira OL 6-2 290 Fr. Hutchinson, Minn. Hutchinson