Daum On NABC Player of Year Watch List

KANSAS CITY -- The National Association of Basketball Coaches on Monday announced its preseason watch list for the 2019 NABC Division I Player of the Year Presented by ShotTracker, with South Dakota State's Mike Daum among the 20 names released.

Daum, the two-time Summit League Player of the Year and Associated Press All-American, is back for his senior year after exploring the NBA Draft waters. The Kimball, Nebraska native, who was named the Summit League's Preseason Player of the Year, led the team with 23.9 points per game and scored 836 points a year ago. With 2,232 career points, he is closing in on Nate Wolters' all-time SDSU scoring record of 2,363. He is also on the watch list for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame 2019 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award after being named a finalist for the honor in 2017-18.

The 2019 NABC Division I Player of the Year award will be announced on Sunday, April 7, at the NABC Guardians of the Game Awards Show in Minneapolis, Minn. - site of the 2019 NCAA Final Four.

The Jackrabbits open the 2018-19 season Tuesday at home, welcoming Grand Canyon to Frost Arena for a 7 p.m. tip.
2019 NABC Division I Player of the Year Presented by ShotTracker
Preseason Watch List

RJ Barrett, Duke Fr. F
Tyus Battle, Syracuse Jr. G
Mike Daum, South Dakota State Sr. F
Carsen Edwards, Purdue Jr. G
Kyle Guy, Virginia Jr. G
Rui Hachimura, Gonzaga Jr. F
Ethan Happ, Wisconsin Sr. F
De'Andre Hunter, Virginia So. G
Romeo Langford, Indiana Fr. G
Dedric Lawson, Kansas Jr. F
Caleb Martin, Nevada Sr. F
Luke Maye, North Carolina Sr. F
Eric Paschall, Villanova Sr. F
Shamorie Ponds, St. John's Jr. G
Reid Travis, Kentucky Grad. F
Dean Wade, Kansas State Sr. F
P.J. Washington, Kentucky Fr. F
Tremont Waters, LSU So. G
Grant Williams, Tennessee Jr. F
Zion Williamson, Duke Fr. F