NSU's Kastigar earns NSIC Swimmer of the Year as SCSU wins Swim and Dive title

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. – St. Cloud State won its fourth NSIC Swimming & Diving Championship in the last five years as the Huskies amassed 950.5 points to knock off defending NSIC Championships of Minnesota State (902.5). SCSU’s Britin Thomsen was voted NSIC Diver of the Year for the third straight season and also earned NSIC Diver of the Meet honors. SCSU’s Kayla Deters was voted NSIC Diving Coach of the Year for the third straight season. Thomsen swept the diving events as she took home the 3-meter event on Saturday with a score of 438.65.

Five more records fell on the final day of competition, bringing the total to 13 total record breaking performances at this years championship.

The University of Mary’s Allan McCallum was voted by his peers as the NSIC Swimming Coach of the Year. Northern State’s Hanna Kastigar was voted the NSIC Swimmer of the Year, while Sioux Falls’ Cassie Wright earned NSIC Swimmer of the Meet. University of Mary’s Victoria Murillo was voted by the league coaches as the NSIC Freshmen of the Year.

Augustana’s Taylor Beagle set the NSIC record in the 1650 yard freestyle with a time of 17:02.46, breaking her own record of 17:08.16 from last season. Cassie Wright won the 100 yard IM in a record time of 56.80 breaking the 2017 record of Taylor Bass (58.44 – MSU).

Sioux Falls Cassandra Wright set the record in the 200 yard backstroke with a time of 1:59.75m, breaking the 2017 record of Erin Sullivan (MSUM – 2:00.09). Minnesota State’s Lily Borgenheimer broke her own record by over five seconds in the 200 yard breaststroke with a time of 2:12.78. The final record breaking performance of the championship came in the 400 yard freestyle relay as St. Cloud State’s team of Jen Thompson, Chelsea Gehrke, Christina Ware and Alexis Burroughs won in a time of 3:23.58 edging the 2017 record of MSU of 3:24.99. The top three finalists in each individual event and top two finalists in each relay event were recognized as All-NSIC performers.

The NCAA will announce the field for the NCAA Championships on Wednesday, Feb 27. The NCAA Championships, which are held in Indianapolis at the IU Natatorium on March 13-16.